About Me


Name : Dr. Ashok Kumar

Designation: Professor

Organisation: Department of Earthquake Engineering, I.I.T. Roorkee

Date of Birth: July 24, 1951

Academic (B.E. degree onwards) Qualifications:

SN Degree University/Institution Division/ Equivalent Year Specialization
1 B.E. (Hons.) BITS, Pilani First 1972 Mechanical Engineering
2 M.E. UOR, Roorkee(now I.I.T. Roorkee) First with Hons. 1974 Machine Design
3 Ph.D. UOR, Roorkee(now I.I.T. Roorkee) 1993 Earthquake Engineering


Present Professional Activities

  • Working for development of India’s first earthquake early warning system
  • Development of computer software using digital signal processing techniques for processing of strong motion earthquake data.
  • Search for attributes of Earthquake Early Warning (EEW) System and development of algorithm for EEW.
  • Seismic qualification of Electrical Equipment on shake table for design earthquake. These equipment are subsequently installed at important projects like Nuclear Power Plants after successful testing (about 35 testings/reports).
  • Development of software for system identification using test data of shake table tests on the systems.



  • Taught courses on Introduction to Earthquake Engineering, Theory of Vibrations, Solid Mechanics, Instrumentation, Model analysis, Digital Signal  Processing and   Numerical Analysis at various undergraduate and post-graduate levels.
  • Have lectured  as  an  invited  lecturer  for  various specialist courses for practicing engineers and scientists.
  • Co~ordinated specialist courses for engineers and scientists of different organisations like Nuclear Power Corporation, IMD, DST etc..


Laboratory Developed

  • Shake Table  Laboratory comprising of 20 ton payload biaxial earthquake simulator
  • Strong motion data processing laboratory
  • Small shake table at CoEDMM and at DEQ


Awards and Posts Held in Important Bodies

  • Convener, Subcommittee of CED 39 for revision of IS4967 -1968 “Recommendations for Seismic Instrumentation for River Valley Projects” of Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS)
  • Member, Earthquake Engineering Sectional Committee CED 39 of BIS
  • Member, Working Group of CED 39 for Revision of Recommended Response Spectra of IS1893
  • Member, Mechanical Vibration and Shock Sectional Committee MED 28 of BIS.
  • Received Khosla award of University of Roorkee for the year 1992 for a research paper entitled “The Effect of Band limited interpolation of nonuniform Samples on Records of Analog Accelerographs” (authored with Basu,S. and Chandra, B.)
  • Honorary Secretary, Indian Society of Earthquake Technology for 1993-95